Home >> Tamilnadu Famous National Parks and Zoos

Tamil Nadu Famous National Parks and Zoos

Tamilnadu National Parks Zoos

  • A national park is an area strictly reserved for wildlife and biodiversity and activities such as development, forestry, hunting and grazing in cultivation are not allowed. In these parks, even private rights are not allowed.
  • Their boundaries are well marked and circumscribed. They are usually small reserves spread over an area of 100 square kilometers.
  • The first 500 sq.km. In national parks, emphasis is placed on the conservation of single flora or fauna.

National Parks in Tamilnadu

Tiger Reserves in Tamilnadu

  • Kalakkad Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve - Tirunelveli District
  • Anamalai Tiger Reserve - Coimbatore District
  • Mudumalai Tiger Reserve - Nilgiris District

Crocodile Park in Tamilnadu

  • Amaravathi Sagar Crocodile Farm
  • Sathanur Dam Crocodile Park
  • Hogenakkal Crocodile Farm

Zoos in Tamilnadu

  • Arignar Anna Zoological Park - Vandalur, Chennai
  • Mudumalai Wildlife Sanctuary and National Park - Nilgiris District
  • Kodiyakarai Wildlife Sanctuary - Nagapattinam District
  • Shenbagathoppu Grizzled Squirrel Wildlife Sanctuary - Virudhunagar District
  • Vallanadu Wildlife Sanctuary - Thoothukudi District
  • Kanyakumari  Wildlife Sanctuary - Kanyakumari District
  • Kalakkad Mundanthurai Tiger Reserve - Tirunelveli District

Biosphere Reserves in Tamilnadu

  • Gulf of Mannar Biosphere Reserves  (founded in 1986)
  • Nilgiris Biosphere Reserves, Niligiri Hills (founded in 1989)
  • The Agasthyamala Biosphere Reserve  (founded in 2001)

Bird Sanctuary

  • Pulicat Lake Bird Sanctuary - Thiruvallur district
  • Vedanthangal Bird Sanctuary - Kanchipuram district
  • Karikili Bird sanctuary - Kanchipuram district
  • Karaivetti bird sanctuary - Perambalur district
  • Udayamarthandapuram Bird Sanctuary - Thiruvallur district
  • Vaduvoor bird sanctuary - Tanjore District
  • Chitrangudi bird sanctuary - Ramanathapuram District
  • Koonthankulam bird sanctuary - Tirunelveli District
  • Vellode Bird Sanctuary - Erode District
  • Melaselvanoor, Keelaselvanoor Bird Sanctuary - Ramanathapuram District
  • Vettangudi Bird Sanctuary - Sivagangai district